Kara Rooney in Occupy Mana, opening this Sunday, October 15th at Mana Contemporary

Posted by on Oct 12, 2017 in Events, Exhibitions, Faculty | No Comments

VCS faculty member Kara Rooney has forwarded us the following announcement of Occupy Mana, a group exhibition she’ll be in that opens this weekend at Mana Contemporary in Jersey City:


Lauren Bon and The Metabolic Studio, Artists Need to Create on the Same Scale That Society Has the Capacity to Destroy, 2017

The Brooklyn Rail Presents:


A two part exhibition at Mana Contemporary,
curated by Phong Bui and Rail Curatorial Projects
October 15 – December 15, 2017

Please join us for the opening reception:

Sunday October 15th
4 – 6pm
888 Newark Ave, Jersey City



Hans Haacke, State of the Union, 2005


Occupying the 50,000 square foot Glass Gallery, this exhibition features 34 artists whose works in various media invoke contemporary social and political issues. Of particular focus are human rights and equality, immigration, foreign relations, the environment, and climate change—all topics of alarming concern today. The dynamic visual presentations of these artists amplify and nuance one another, creating a complex environment that shuns indifference, ambivalence, and indecision.


The second exhibition is a selection of works from artists-in-residence and employees at Mana shown alongside their peers from outside of this community. There is no unifying theme between the works themselves; it is rather the joining of communities of artists, with the opportunity to present their individual pieces in the transient spaces of the building: the main entrance, hallways, the café, and a variety of less explicit public areas.

Clifford Ross, Hurricane LXVIII, 2008


Occupy Mana:
Artists Need to Create on the Same Scale That Society Has the Capacity to Destroy 

includes Shoja Azari, Huma Bhabha, Lauren Bon, David Brooks, Francis Cape, Mel Chin, Christian de Boschnek, Mark Dion, Sam Durant, Fastnet (Aurora Andrews, Mel Bochner, Phoebe D’Heurle, Brian Hubble, Christina Leung, Patrick Meagher, James Powers, Erik Sommer, and Mollie Thurman), Hans Haacke, Lyle Ashton Harris, Dana Hoey, Jenny Holzer, Alfredo Jaar, Deborah Kass, Eugene Lemay, Maya Lin, Mary Lucier, Daniel Joseph Martinez, Donald Moffett, Shirin Neshat, Roxy Paine, Adam Pendleton, Alexis Rockman, Tim Rollins & K.O.S., Martha Rosler, Clifford Ross, Will Ryman, Hank Willis Thomas, Tomas Vu & Rikrit Tiravanija, Nari Ward, Meg Webster, and Diana Wege.

Occupy Mana:
Friends in Solidarity, Year 1

includes Z Behl, Louis Block, Dana Buhl, Sante D’Orazio, Bradley Eros, Chris Felver, Benjamin Fredrickson, Sarah Halpern, Hands Off Our Revolution, Nir Hod, Rindon Johnson, Ben Keating, James English Leary, Alberto Montaño Mason, Kele McComsey, Cy Morgan, Antonio Murado, Rocío Olivares, Yigal Ozeri, G.T. Pellizzi, Kara Rooney, Raphael Rubinstein & Heather Bause, Lola Montes Schnabel, Pacifico Silano, Ray Smith, Sei Smith, Tomas Vu, Nat Ward, and Ziv Yonatan.


Complimentary shuttles will run throughout the day between Milk Studios in Manhattan and Mana Contemporary. Visit manacontemporary.com/openhouse for more information and shuttle times.

Please don’t hesitate to reach out to hq@brooklynrail.org with any questions.

Visual & Critical Studies